Bob Jungels takes the victory in stage 9 of the Tour de France

BOB JUNGELS : “Happy for myself and for the team”

«It’s incredible! I do not know what to say. Winning a stage on the Tour de France was a dream after these last years of difficulty. I am very happy for myself, but also for the team. I know this means a lot to them. The last kilometers were very long but I knew that victory was close and that we had to stay focused. I have won after a solo effort; that’s how I like to do it. Today I took all the risks and it paid off. I am very grateful to the AG2R CITROËN TEAM and all those who have believed in me over the past few months. I have found my best feelings and it does a lot of good»

VINCENT LAVENU : “Immense happiness”

«It is an immense happiness after this very difficult start to the Tour de France with the misfortunes of Ben O’Connor and Geoffrey Bouchard.
Bob is a great champion and he raced like he knows how to race. In recent months, he has regained his true level. We needed this to give a boost to the whole team and to validate the work of all our staff and our partners. This is the twenty-first victory for the AG2R CITROËN TEAM in the Tour de France. These are always exceptional moments to live and they come with a lot of emotion. You have to appreciate them and enjoy them. This victory, after a solo raid of more than 60 kilometers, will remain in the history of the team.»

BRUNO ANGLES, CEO of AG2R LA MONDIALE

«On behalf of the directors and employees of AG2R LA MONDIALE, I extend my congratulations to Bob Jungels and our entire team for this magnificent performance and for the intense emotions that we have experienced throughout this fantastic stage! We are extremely proud that our riders carry our values of solidarity and performance so high. We are all following each step with great fervor and we hope that this victory will lead to others. We never give up»

VINCENT COBEE, CEO of CITROËN

«Bob Jungels produced an exceptional performance, taking a victory with panache and courage after a solo breakaway of more than 60 km. His return to the highest level after a difficult 2021 season illustrates his qualities of resilience, worthy of a great champion. This victory is a source of immense pride for all of us and I warmly congratulate Bob Jungels and Vincent Lavenu on behalf of the men and women of CITROËN. This great victory shows how much the fighting spirit and the desire to win remain strong within the team. We are at their side to encourage them to continue to shine on the roads of the Tour.”

The number

3

For the third consecutive year, the AG2R CITROËN TEAM has won a stage in the Tour de France. Nans Peters won the eighth stage in 2020 and Ben O’Connor the ninth stage in 2021. This is the sixth victory for the AG2R CITROËN TEAM in 2022. Ben O’Connor won the third stage of the Volta Ciclista a Catalunya and the Tour du Jura, Marc Sarreau won Cholet-Pays de la Loire, Geoffrey Bouchard raised his arms in the first stage of the Tour of the Alps and Bob Jungels became the Luxembourg time trial champion. It is the 498th victory for the team since its founding in 1992.

The news

Aurélien Paret-Peintre and Bob Jungels 13th and 16th overall

After nine stages, Aurélien Paret-Peintre and Bob Jungels are 13th and 16th, respectively, in the overall classification. Bob Jungels is 2nd in the King of the Mountain classification.

Bob Jungels remporte la 9e étape du Tour de France

BOB JUNGELS : « C’est incroyable »

«C’est incroyable ! Je ne sais pas quoi dire. Gagner une étape sur le Tour de France était un rêve après ces dernières années de galère. Je suis très heureux pour moi mais aussi pour l’équipe. Je sais que cela veut dire beaucoup de chose pour eux.
Les derniers kilomètres étaient très longs mais je savais que la victoire était proche et qu’il fallait rester concentré. Je gagne après un numéro en solitaire, c’est ce que je préfère.Aujourd’hui j’ai pris tous les risques et cela a payé. Je suis très reconnaissant envers l’équipe AG2R CITROËN et tous ceux qui ont cru en moi ces derniers mois. Je retrouve mes meilleures sensations et cela fait beaucoup de bien. »

VINCENT LAVENU : « Un immense bonheur »

«C’est un immense bonheur après ce début de Tour de France très difficile avec les malheurs de Ben O’Connor et Geoffrey Bouchard. Bob est un grand champion et il a couru comme il sait le faire. Depuis quelques mois, il a retrouvé le niveau qui est le sien. Nous avions besoin de cela pour rebooster toute l’équipe et pour valider le travail de l’ensemble de notre staff et de nos partenaires. C’est la 21e victoire de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN sur le Tour de France et ce sont toujours des moments exceptionnels à vivre avec beaucoup d’émotion. Il faut les apprécier et profiter. Cette victoire après un raid solitaire de plus de 60 kilomètres restera dans l’histoire de l’équipe. »

BRUNO ANGLES directeur général d’AG2R LA MONDIAL

«Au nom des administrateurs et des collaborateurs d’AG2R LA MONDIALE, j’adresse toutes mes félicitations à Bob Jungels et à l’ensemble de notre équipe pour cette magnifique performance et pour les émotions intenses que nous avons vécues tout au long de cette fantastique étape ! Nous sommes extrêmement fiers que nos coureurs portent si haut nos valeurs de solidarité et de performance. Nous suivons tous chaque étape avec une grande ferveur et nous espérons que cette victoire en appellera d’autres. « On ne lâche rien !»

VINCENT COBEE, directeur général de CITROËN

«Bob Jungels a réalisé une performance exceptionnelle, signant avec panache et courage une victoire après une échappée en solitaire de plus de 60 km. Son retour au plus haut niveau après une saison 2021 difficile illustre ses qualités de résilience, digne d’un très grand champion. Cette victoire est une immense fierté pour nous tous et je félicite chaleureusement Bob Jungels et Vincent Lavenu au nom des hommes et des femmes de CITROËN. Cette belle victoire montre combien, la combativité et l’envie de gagner reste forte au sein de l’équipe, nous sommes à leurs côtés pour les enco»

Le chiffre

3

Pour la troisième année consécutive, l’équipe AG2R CITROËN lève les bras sur le Tour de France. Nans Peters avait remporté la huitième étape en 2020 et Ben O’Connor la neuvième étape en 2021. C’est la sixième victoire de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN en 2022. Ben O’Connor s’est imposé dans la troisième étape de la Volta Ciclista a Catalunya et au Tour du Jura, Marc Sarreau a remporté Cholet-Pays de la Loire, Geoffrey Bouchard a levé les bras dans la première étape du Tour des Alpes et Bob Jungels est devenu champion du Luxembourg du contre-la-montre individuel. C’est la 498e victoire de l’équipe depuis sa création en 1992.

L’info

Aurélien Paret-Peintre et Bob Jungels 13e et 16e du classement général

Après neuf étapes, Aurélien Paret-Peintre et Bob Jungels sont 13e et 16e du classement général. Bob Jungels est 2e du classement du meilleur grimpeur.