Giro d’Italia (May 6-29)

Laurent Biondi, sports manager for the AG2R CITROËN TEAM, presents the eight riders from the team who will be at the start of the Giro d’Italia 2022.

LILIAN CALMEJANE

29 years old / 12 professional victories
1st participation

« Lilian is an experienced rider who will be able to bring his race craft to the group and in particular help out Félix. He will be an important element in our team plan, and especially in our quest for a stage victory. He will aim for the hilly stages that suit his qualities. »

MIKAËL CHÉREL

36 years old
4th participation
Best result: 10th on a stage (2011)

« Mikaël is taking part in his sixteenth Grand Tour. His experience and qualities in the mountains will be essential alongside Félix. He will be able to help and advise the team, but also play his card on certain stages to snag his first professional victory. »

FÉLIX GALL

24 years old
1st participation
« Félix has been the happy surprise for the start to the season for the AG2R CITROËN TEAM. He has shown that he had great potential in stage races thanks to his good recovery qualities. He will be our sole leader for the general classification. However, this is his first Grand Tour and therefore his first experience of managing a three-week race. He will aim for a top 15 in the general classification and depending on the opportunities, a stage victory. »

JAAKKO HÄNNINEN

25 years old
2nd participation

« Jaakko has had a rocky start to the season with health issues and crashes. We hope to see him regain confidence throughout this Giro and the physical qualities allowing him to be an animator at the front on certain stages. He will also be an important element in helping to protect Félix. »

LAWRENCE NAESEN

29 years old
2nd participation
Best result: 8th on a stage (2021)

« Lawrence replaces Clément Berthet, who crashed and broke his collarbone in the Tour of the Alps. Even if he did not have the ideal preparation for a Grand Tour, he will have a key role in protecting Félix on the flat and tricky stages, and he will be able to play his card on certain sprint stages. »

NANS PETERS

28 years old / 2 professional victories
2nd participation
Best result: stage victory (2019)

« Nans has had a good preparation including an altitude training camp at Etna. The Giro d’Italia is his big goal for the start of the season. He will be a valuable rider around Félix but also to go for a stage victory as he did in 2019. »

NICOLAS PRODHOMME

25 years old
1st participation

« Nicolas is a young rider. He will ride the Giro d’Italia for the first time after having done the Vuelta a Espana in 2021 where he took a nice top-10 on one of the stages. His climbing qualities will be useful in accompanying Félix but he will also be able to slip into the breakaway on difficult stages. »

ANDREA VENDRAME

27 years old / 4 professional victories
5th participation
Best result: stage victory (2021)

« Andrea is the rider on the team who knows the Giro d’Italia best. His knowledge of the roads will be an asset for the whole team. He has qualities as a puncher that can allow him to take victories in sprints from small groups and the strength to win from a breakaway like his victory last year. »

The number

2

Two riders from the AG2R CITROËN TEAM at the start have already won a stage victory in the Giro d'Italia. Nans Peters won the seventeenth stage in 2019 and Andrea Vendrame won the twelfth stage in 2021.
Lilian Calmejane, who is taking part in the Giro d'Italia for the first time, can enter the exclusive group of riders who have won stages at all three Grand Tours. He won stage four of the Vuelta a Espana in 2016 and took the victory in stage eight of the Tour de France in 2017.

The news

Sixteenth Grand Tour for Mikaël Chérel

On Friday, May 6th, in Budapest (Hungary), Mikaël Chérel will start his sixteenth Grand Tour. He has participated six times in the Tour de France, six times in the Vuelta a Espana, and this will be his fourth participation in the Giro d'Italia.
Félix Gall is taking part in his first Grand Tour.

Giro d’Italia (6-29 mai)

Laurent Biondi, manager sportif de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN, présente les huit coureurs qui composent l’effectif au départ du Giro d’Italia 2022.

LILIAN CALMEJANE

29 ans / 12 victoires professionnelles
1ère participation

« Lilian est un coureur d’expérience qui pourra apporter son savoir-faire au groupe et notamment auprès de Félix. Il sera un élément important du dispositif et notamment dans la quête d’une victoire d’étape. Il visera les profils vallonnés qui conviennent à ses qualités. »

MIKAËL CHÉREL

36 ans
4e participation
Meilleur résultat : 10e d’étape (2011)

« Mikaël participe à son seizième grand tour. Son expérience et ses qualités en montagne seront primordiales aux côtés de Félix. Il pourra apporter son aide et conseiller l’équipe, mais aussi jouer sa carte sur certaines étapes pour décrocher sa première victoire professionnelle. »

FÉLIX GALL

24 ans
1ère participation
« Félix est la très bonne surprise de ce début de saison pour l’équipe AG2R CITROËN. Il a démontré qu’il avait un gros potentiel sur les courses à étapes avec de belles qualités de récupération. Ce sera notre leader unique pour le classement général. C’est toutefois son premier grand tour et donc une première expérience sur la gestion d’une course de trois semaines. Il visera un top 15 au classement général et en fonction des opportunités, une victoire d’étape. »

JAAKKO HÄNNINEN

25 ans
2e participation

« Jaakko a connu un début de saison mouvementé avec des problèmes de santé et des chutes. Nous espérons le voir retrouver de la confiance tout au long de ce Giro et des qualités physiques lui permettant de jouer devant sur certaines étapes. Il sera également un élément important dans le dispositif autour de Félix. »

LAWRENCE NAESEN

29 ans
2e participation
Meilleur résultat : 8e d’étape (2021)

« Lawrence remplace Clément Berthet, victime d’une fracture de la clavicule au Tour des Alpes. Même s’il n’a pas eu la préparation idéale pour un grand tour, il aura un rôle primordial pour protéger Félix sur les étapes plates et piégeuses et pourra jouer sa carte sur certains sprints. »

NANS PETERS

28 ans / 2 victoires professionnelles
2e participation
Meilleur résultat : victoire d’étape (2019)

« Nans a effectué une bonne préparation avec notamment un stage en altitude à l’Etna. Le Giro d’Italia est son gros objectif de ce début de saison. Ce sera un coureur précieux autour de Félix mais aussi pour aller chercher une victoire d’étape comme il l’avait fait en 2019. »

NICOLAS PRODHOMME

25 ans
1ère participation

« Nicolas est un jeune coureur. Il découvrira le Giro d’Italia après la Vuelta a Espana en 2021 où il avait décroché un beau top 10 sur une étape. Ses qualités de grimpeur seront intéressantes pour accompagner Félix mais aussi pour se glisser dans l’échappée sur des étapes escarpées. »

ANDREA VENDRAME

27 ans / 4 victoires professionnelles
5e participation
Meilleur résultat : victoire d’étape (2020)

« Andrea est le coureur de l’équipe qui connaît le mieux le Giro d’Italia. Sa connaissance du terrain sera un atout pour le collectif. Il dispose de qualités de puncheur qui peuvent lui permettre de lever les bras dans des sprints en petits comités mais aussi en échappée à l’image de sa victoire l’année passée. »

Le chiffre

2

Deux coureurs de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN au départ ont déjà remporté une victoire d’étape sur le Giro d’Italia. Nans Peters a gagné la dix-septième étape en 2019 et Andrea Vendrame s’est imposé lors de la douzième étape en 2021.
Lilian Calmejane, qui participe pour la première fois au Giro d’Italia, peut rentrer dans le cercle fermé des vainqueurs d’étape sur les trois grands tours. Il a remporté la quatrième étape de la Vuelta a Espana en 2016 et a levé les bras dans la 8e étape du Tour de France en 2017.

L'info

Seizième grand tour pour Mikaël Chérel

Le vendredi 6 mai à Budapest (Hongrie), Mikaël Chérel prendra le départ de son seizième grand tour. Il a participé à six Tour de France, six Vuelta a Espana et ce sera sa quatrième participation au Giro d’Italia.
Félix Gall participe quant à lui à son premier grand tour.