The selection for the Tour de France 2022

Vincent Lavenu : « Going with big ambitions »

« We will start the Tour de France in Copenhagen with great ambitions. Since last year, Ben O’Connor has shown us the extent of his qualities. With him, we will focus on the best possible general classification, without setting a specific objective. We are certain that his sporting level, which he proved with his final podium at the Critérium du Dauphiné, can bring us real satisfaction.
Taking a stage victory will also be a goal for all our riders. We know that it has a special meaning at a grand tour.
It’s a tricky Tour de France where you’ll have to be careful, especially in the first week. Then the mountains will come, where our team will be able to show themselves in a beautiful way.
It’s heartbreaking not to select a champion like Greg Van Avermaet. He remains one of the greatest riders in the peloton and his dedication to his profession is remarkable. However, the profile of the Tour de France seemed to us not quite suited to its current strengths. The sportsmanship with which he welcomed our decision further proves that he is a man of great professionalism and rare class. »

Vincent Lavenu, general manager of the AG2R CITROËN TEAM, presents the eight riders who will make up the squad at the start of the Tour de France 2022:

GEOFFREY BOUCHARD

30 years old / 1 professional victory
1st participation

« Geoffrey won his place in the Tour de France thanks to his convincing results his last major tours (winner of the mountain classification at the Vuelta a España in 2019 and the Giro d’Italia in 2021, 14th in the general classification of the Vuelta a España in 2021) and he has had a very good start to the season (stage victory in the Tour of the Alps). He will discover the Tour de France and provide heavy reinforcement in the mountains for Ben O’Connor. He will also have the possibility of slipping into the breakaways when the opportunity arises. »

MIKAËL CHÉREL

36 years old
7th participation
Best results: 18th in the general classification (2015) and 8th on a stage (2014 and 2015)

« Mikael had a good Giro d’Italia, finishing in 23rd place in the general classification. He took the time to rest and prepare and will provide valuable help to Ben O’Connor throughout this Tour de France. He is a rider who knows the role of teammate perfectly and who excels in this area, especially in terms of keeping his leader well positioned. »

BENOIT COSNEFROY

26 years old / 12 professional victories
4th participation
Best results: 20th in a stage (2021) and wore the KOM jersey for 15 days (2020)

« After a difficult start to the Tour de Suisse (June 12-19), Benoît regained good physical condition during the final stages. At his best, he rivals the strongest riders in the world in his style of racing. Benoît will be chasing a stage victory and will also have the opportunity to work for the team during these three weeks. »

STAN DEWULF

24 years old / 1 professional victory
1st participation

« Stan is a very versatile rider. He never hesitates to put himself at the service of the team and his good humor is contagious. He will be riding his first Tour de France, with the aim of protecting Ben, especially in the first week, but also with the prospect of slipping into breakaways and taking advantage of his good burst of speed to clinch a stage victory. »

BOB JUNGELS

29 years old / 23 professional victories
4th participation
Best results: 11th in the general classification (2018) and 4th on a stage (2015)

« Bob showed at the Tour de Suisse (June 12-19) that he is back in shape (6th in the general classification) and that he remains a top-level rider. He naturally finds his place in the team. He will aim for a stage victory but will also be able to accompany Ben when the road heads upwards. »

OLIVER NAESEN

31 years old / 5 professional victories
7th participation
Best result: 4th on a stage (2019)

« Oliver is a very important part of the team. He will provide essential protection for Ben the first week and throughout the Tour de France. It’s a role he masters perfectly. He will be able to bring his experience from his last six participations in the Grande Boucle, his qualities on the cobblestones, and can also try his luck for a stage win, as he knows how to do. »

BEN O’CONNOR

26 years old / 7 professional victories 
2nd participation
Best results: 4th in the general classification (2021) and a stage victory (2021)

« In view of what Ben showed us last year at the Tour de France (4th in the general classification and a stage victory) and during the first part of this season, in particular at the Critérium du Dauphiné (3rd in the general classification), he will naturally be our leader. He has proven that his physical level allows him to compete with the strongest and he will start the Tour de France with the ambition of achieving the best possible general classification. »

AURÉLIEN PARET-PEINTRE

26 years old / 1 professional victory
2nd participation
Best results: 15th in the general classification (2021) and 7th on a stage (2021)

« Aurélien completed his first Tour de France last year in 15th place. In recent seasons, he has shown he has great skills in stage races, notably finishing in the top 10 of Paris-Nice two years in a row (9th in 2021 and 10th in 2022). He will be an important element of the group and can help Ben. He will also focus on winning a stage. »

The number

17

Mikaël Chérel will compete in his seventeenth Grand Tour. He has participated in six Vuelta a España, four Giro d'Italia and this will be his seventh participation in the Tour de France.
Geoffrey Bouchard and Stan Dewulf will start their first Tour de France.

The news

The AG2R CITROËN TEAM taking part in the Tour de France publicity caravan

For the second consecutive year, the AG2R CITROËN TEAM will be present in the Tour de France advertising caravan. This project, born from the common will of the team and its title partners, aims to meet the public of the Grande Boucle and to strengthen the link between the team and its fans. On this occasion, 100,000 sponge bracelets will be distributed to spectators throughout the 3346 kilometers of the Tour de France. AG2R CITROËN TEAM has chosen to offer a useful object, reusable by everyone and for all activities. This sponge bracelet has a small pocket with a zipper, ideal for storing your keys during a hike, a bike ride or any other activity.
The two vehicles that will crisscross Denmark and then France are: a Citroën C5 Aircross Plug-in Hybrid and a Citroën Jumper dressed in a Caselani Type H kit in the team's colors.

La sélection pour le Tour de France 2022

Vincent Lavenu : « Avec de belles ambitions »

« Nous prendrons le départ du Tour de France à Copenhague avec de belles ambitions. Depuis l’année dernière, Ben O’Connor nous a prouvé l’étendue de ses qualités. Avec lui, nous allons nous concentrer sur le meilleur classement général possible, sans fixer d’objectif précis. Nous sommes certains que son niveau sportif, à l’image de son podium final au Critérium du Dauphiné peut nous amener de réelles satisfactions.
Le gain d’une victoire d’étape sera aussi recherché avec l’ensemble de nos coureurs. Nous savons que cela apporte une délivrance sur un grand tour.
C’est un Tour de France piégeux où il faudra être attentif, notamment en première semaine. Puis viendra la montagne où notre équipe pourra s’exprimer de belle manière.
C’est un crève-cœur de ne pas sélectionner un champion comme Greg Van Avermaet. Il demeure un des plus grands coureurs du peloton et son implication dans son métier est remarquable. Cependant, le profil du Tour de France nous a paru pas tout à fait adapté à son profil actuel. La sportivité avec laquelle il a accueilli notre décision prouve encore un peu plus qu’il est un homme d’un grand professionnalisme et d’une classe rare. »

Vincent Lavenu, manager général de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN, présente les huit coureurs qui composent l’effectif au départ du Tour de France 2022 :

GEOFFREY BOUCHARD

30 ans / 1 victoire professionnelle
1ère participation

« Geoffrey a gagné sa place sur le Tour de France grâce à ses probants résultats sur les derniers grands tours (vainqueur du classement de la montagne de la Vuelta a Espana en 2019 et du Giro d’Italia en 2021, 14e du classement général de la Vuelta a Espana en 2021) et son très bon début de saison (victoire d’étape sur le Tour des Alpes). Il découvrira le Tour de France en étant un renfort de poids en montagne pour Ben O’Connor mais aussi avec la possibilité de se glisser dans les échappées quand l’occasion se présentera. »

MIKAËL CHÉREL

36 ans
7e participation
MeilleurS résultatS : 18e du classement général (2015) et 8e d’étape (2014 et 2015)

« Mikaël a réalisé un bon Giro d’Italia conclu à la 23e place du classement général. Il a pris le temps de se reposer et de se préparer et sera un élément précieux pour Ben O’Connor tout au long de ce Tour de France. C’est un coureur qui connaît parfaitement le rôle d’équipier et qui excelle dans ce domaine, notamment au niveau du placement. »

BENOIT COSNEFROY

26 ans / 12 victoires professionnelles
4e participation

« Après un début de Tour de Suisse (12-19 juin) difficile, Benoît a retrouvé une bonne condition physique lors des dernières étapes. À son meilleur niveau, il rivalise avec les plus forts du monde dans son registre. Benoît chassera une victoire d’étape et aura aussi l’occasion de se mettre au service du collectif pendant ces trois semaines. »

STAN DEWULF

24 ans / 1 victoire professionnelle
1ère participation

« Stan est un coureur très polyvalent. Il n’hésite jamais à se mettre au service du collectif et sa bonne humeur est communicatrice. Il découvrira lui aussi le Tour de France, dans le but de protéger Ben, notamment en première semaine, mais aussi avec la perspective de se glisser dans des échappées et profiter de sa belle pointe de vitesse pour décrocher une victoire d’étape. »

BOB JUNGELS

29 ans / 23 victoires professionnelles
4e participation
Meilleurs résultats : 11e du classement général (2018) et 4e d’étape (2015)

« Bob a démontré sur le Tour de Suisse (12-19 juin) qu’il est de retour en forme (6e du classement général) et qu’il reste un coureur de haut niveau. Il retrouve naturellement sa place dans le collectif. Il visera une victoire d’étape mais pourra aussi accompagner Ben quand la route s’élèvera. »

OLIVER NAESEN

31 ans / 5 victoires professionnelles
7e participation
Meilleur résultat : 4e d’étape (2019)

« Oliver est un élément très important du dispositif. Il sera en protection rapprochée auprès de Ben la première semaine et tout au long du Tour de France. C’est un rôle qu’il maîtrise parfaitement. Il pourra apporter son expérience de ses six dernières participations à la Grande Boucle, ses qualités sur les pavés et aussi tenter sa chance comme il sait le faire. »

BEN O’CONNOR

26 ans / 7 victoires professionnelles
2e participation
Meilleurs résultats : 4e du classement général (2021) et une victoire d’étape (2021)

« Au regard de ce que Ben nous a montré l’année dernière sur le Tour de France (4e du classement général et une victoire d’étape) et de son début de saison, notamment au Critérium du Dauphiné (3e du classement général), il sera naturellement notre leader. Il a prouvé que son niveau physique lui permet de jouer avec les plus forts et il prendra le départ du Tour de France avec l’ambition de réaliser le meilleur classement général possible. »

AURÉLIEN PARET-PEINTRE

26 ans / 1 victoire professionnelle
2e participation
Meilleurs résultats : 15e du classement général (2021) et 7e d’étape (2021)

« Aurélien a bouclé l’année dernière son premier Tour de France à la 15e place. Il nous a montré ces dernières saisons de belles aptitudes dans les courses par étapes en terminant notamment dans le top 10 de Paris-Nice deux années de suite (9e en 2021 et 10e en 2022). Il sera un élément important du groupe et auprès de Ben. Il pourra aussi se concentrer sur le gain d’une victoire d’étape. »

Le chiffre

17

Mikaël Chérel disputera son dix-septième grand tour. Il a participé à six Vuelta a Espana, quatre Giro d’Italia et ce sera sa septième participation au Tour de France.
Geoffrey Bouchard et Stan Dewulf prendront quant à eux le départ de leur premier Tour de France.

L'info

Présence de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN dans la caravane publicitaire du Tour de France

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, l’équipe AG2R CITROËN sera présente dans la caravane publicitaire du Tour de France. Ce projet, né de la volonté commune de l’équipe et de ses partenaires titres, a pour objectif d’aller à la rencontre du public de la Grande Boucle et de renforcer le lien entre l’équipe et ses fans. À cette occasion, 100 000 bracelets éponge seront distribués aux spectateurs tout au long des 3346 kilomètres du Tour de France. AG2R CITROËN TEAM a choisi d’offrir un objet utile, réutilisable par tous et pour toutes activités. Ce bracelet éponge comporte une petite poche avec une fermeture éclair, idéale pour mettre ses clés lors d’une randonnée, d’une balade à vélo ou de toute autre activité.
Les deux véhicules qui sillonneront le Danemark puis la France sont : un Citroën C5 Aircross Hybride Rechargeable et un Citroën Jumper habillé d'un kit Caselani Type H aux couleurs de l’équipe.