Skip to main content

[su_quote cite=Clément Champoussin]

Clément Champoussin: "The last weekend makes me want to

"After a good winter, I'm satisfied with my start to the season. Except for the crash on the first stage of the Etoile de Bessèges - Tour du Gard, I was present every day of the race. Not being able to participate in the Tour des Alpes Maritimes and the Var (positive to covid-19) was a disappointment and a stop. However, I was reassured this weekend at the Faun Ardèche Classic (6th) and I can look forward to the future. This is my first participation in Paris-Nice. The beginning of the week doesn't necessarily suit me but the last weekend in the mountains around Nice makes me want to do it. I have always dreamed of racing one of the most beautiful races on the calendar at home. I hope to be in good shape to enjoy my training routes."[/su_quote]

The number

9

Aurélien Paret-Peintre is participating for the third time in Paris-Nice. In 2021, he took 9th place in the final general classification. Ben O'Connor finished 12th. This is also his third participation.

The news

Doctor Eric Bouvat retires

Dr. Eric Bouvat, who has been the medical director of the AG2R CITROËN team since 1994, will be retiring in the coming weeks. Dr. Fabrice Descombes will succeed him as head of the team's medical service. Dr. Descombes, 45, who lives in the Chambéry region, is a former extern at Grenoble University Hospital. He was a doctor for the French Alpine skiing teams and has been part of the AG2R CITROËN team's medical team since 2015.

"Eric Bouvat has marked the history of the team. He has been by our side almost since its creation. His rigor, his skills and his love of the sport have been of capital importance in the professionalization of our structure. His human qualities and his sense of friendship have counted in both good and bad times," said Vincent Lavenu, general manager of the AG2R CITROËN team. "This 30-year adventure has left its mark on my life and I would like to thank Vincent Lavenu for his trust and friendship and all those with whom I have shared a part of this road. Over the years, I have met champions who have taught me a lot about the physical and especially the mental capacities of human beings. I have enjoyed watching the young people of Chambéry Cyclisme Formation grow and develop according to sound values and then accompanying them to the professionals," says Eric Bouvat.

On the other hand, Dr. Serge Niamke joins the team's medical staff.

Paris-Nice (6-13 mars)

Clément Champoussin : « Le dernier week-end me donne envie »

« Après un bel hiver, je suis satisfait de mon début de saison. Hormis la chute lors de la première étape de l’Etoile de Bessèges – Tour du Gard, j’ai été présent tous les jours de course. Ne pas pouvoir participer au Tour des Alpes Maritimes et du Var (positif à la covid-19) a été une déception et un coup d’arrêt. Cependant, je me suis rassuré ce week-end à la Faun Ardèche Classic (6e) et je peux me tourner sereinement vers la suite. C’est ma première participation à Paris-Nice. Le début de semaine ne me convient pas forcément mais le dernier week-end montagneux autour de Nice me donne envie. J’ai toujours rêvé de courir une des plus belles courses du calendrier à domicile. J’espère être en forme pour me faire plaisir sur mes routes d’entraînement.»Clément

Le chiffre

9

Aurélien Paret-Peintre participe pour la 3e fois à Paris-Nice. En 2021, il a pris la 9e place du classement général final. Ben O’Connor avait terminé 12e. C’est aussi sa 3e participation.

L’info

Le docteur Eric Bouvat prend sa retraite

Responsable médical de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN depuis 1994, le docteur Eric Bouvat prendra sa retraite dans les prochaines semaines. Le docteur Fabrice Descombes lui succède à la tête du service médical de l’équipe. Le docteur Descombes, 45 ans, établi dans la région chambérienne, est un ancien externe des hôpitaux universitaires de Grenoble. Il a été médecin des équipes de France de ski alpin et fait partie de l’équipe médicale de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN depuis 2015.

« Eric Bouvat a marqué l’histoire de l’équipe. Il est à nos côtés presque depuis sa création. Sa rigueur, ses compétences et son amour du sport ont eu une importance capitale dans la professionnalisation de notre structure. Ses qualités humaines et son sens de l’amitié ont compté dans les bons et mauvais moments » dit Vincent Lavenu, manager général de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN. « Cette aventure de 30 ans a marqué ma vie et je remercie Vincent Lavenu pour sa confiance et son amitié et tous ceux avec qui j’ai partagé un bout de cette route. Au fil des années, j’ai rencontré des champions qui m’ont beaucoup appris sur les capacités physiques et surtout mentales de l’être humain. J’ai apprécié d’avoir vu grandir et évoluer les jeunes du Chambéry Cyclisme Formation selon de saines valeurs et de les avoir accompagnés ensuite chez les professionnels », dit Eric Bouvat.

D’autre part, le docteur Serge Niamke intègre le staff médical de l’équipe.