Skip to main content

[su_quote cite=Marc Sarreau]

Marc Sarreau: "Happy to be back on the winning track

"I am very happy. The day was relatively quiet despite the fast start. Everyone had energy for the final pack, it was tough and nervous. The team did a great job. We had seen with Oliver (Naesen) that we had to be well placed at the last traffic circle but that the most important thing was the restart. He dropped me off at the 250m mark and I was able to keep all my speed, which was perfect.
It's been two years that I've had one problem after another. It's frustrating for me and for the team. So I'm happy to be back on the winning track, but I hope it's just the beginning of a good period.
There are still several opportunities to raise our arms this week so we'll try to keep it up and defend the leader's jersey."[/su_quote]

The number

500

Marc Sarreau's victory in the first stage of the Tour Poitou-Charentes is the 500th victory for the AG2R CITROËN team, which was created in 1992.
It was Jocelyn Jolidon who opened the counter by raising his arms in the second stage of the Tour du Vaucluse in 1992.
"It's a beautiful symbol and it's not just anecdotal. There is a very long history behind this figure. It represents the work of all our partners, all our riders and all the staff for 31 years. There have been great victories and not so great ones, but each one has aroused a particular emotion.
I am happy for Marc who has gone through some difficult times in recent months. This is a beautiful moment.
The goal now is to add more successes quickly," said Vincent Lavenu, general manager of the AG2R CITROËN team.

The news

La Vuelta a Espana (4th stage): Ben O'Connor sixth

Ben O'Connor finished sixth in the fourth stage of the Vuelta a Espana.
"I felt great today. I'm glad I rode the sprint even though it wasn't perfect. I still need to build up some confidence to lift my arms. My team mates accompanied me well in the final. We are in a good position for the rest of the race", says Ben O'Connor

"We've made a good start to the Vuelta a Espana. From now on, we're in good shape for the AG2R CITROËN team. Ben O'Connor finished in the top six with a great last climb. He was accompanied perfectly by Jaakko Hänninen and Clément Champoussin, who did a great job", says Julien Jurdie, sport director.

Marc Sarreau remporte la première étape du Tour Poitou-Charentes, la 500e victoire de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN

Marc Sarreau : « Heureux de retrouver le chemin de la victoire »

« Je suis très content. La journée a été relativement tranquille malgré le départ rapide. Tout le monde avait de l’énergie pour l’emballage final, c’était musclé et nerveux. L’équipe a fait un travail énorme. Nous avions vu avec Oliver (Naesen) qu’il fallait être bien placé au niveau du dernier rond-point mais que le plus important était la relance. Il m’a déposé au 250m et j’ai pu garder toute ma vitesse, c’était parfait.
Cela fait deux ans que j’enchaîne les galères. C’est frustrant pour moi et pour l’équipe. Je suis donc heureux de retrouver le chemin de la victoire mais j’espère que c’est seulement le début d’une bonne période.
Il reste plusieurs opportunités de lever les bras cette semaine donc nous allons tenter de continuer dans ce sens et de défendre le maillot de leader. »Marc

Le chiffre

500

La victoire de Marc Sarreau dans la première étape du Tour Poitou-Charentes est la 500e victoire de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN, créée en 1992.
C’est Jocelyn Jolidon qui avait ouvert le compteur en levant les bras dans la deuxième étape du Tour du Vaucluse en 1992.
« C’est un beau symbole et cela n’est pas seulement anecdotique. Il y a une très longue histoire derrière ce chiffre. Cela représente le travail de tous nos partenaires, tous nos coureurs et tout le staff depuis 31 ans. Il y a eu des grandes victoires et des moins grandes mais chacune a suscité une émotion particulière.
Je suis content pour Marc qui est passé par des moments difficiles ces derniers mois. C’est un beau moment.
L’objectif est maintenant d’y ajouter rapidement d’autres succès. », dit Vincent Lavenu, manager général de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN.

L’info

La Vuelta a Espana (4e étape) : Ben O’Connor sixième

Ben O’Connor termine sixième de la quatrième étape de la Vuelta a Espana.
« Je me sentais super bien aujourd’hui. Je suis content d’avoir disputé le sprint même si tout n’est pas parfait. J’ai encore besoin d’engranger un peu de confiance pour lever les bras. Mes équipiers m’ont bien accompagné dans le final. Nous sommes dans une bonne position pour la suite de la course », déclare Ben O’Connor

« Nous sommes bien rentrés dans cette Vuelta a Espana. A partir d’aujourd’hui, nous sommes sur des terrains propices à l’équipe AG2R CITROËN. Ben O’Connor signe un beau top six avec une belle dernière montée. Il a été accompagné à la perfection par Jaakko Hänninen et Clément Champoussin, qui traduit une beau travail », dit Julien Jurdie, directeur sportif.