Vuelta a Burgos (August 2-6)

Valentin Retailleau : « A good introduction »

« I can’t wait to start a new page with my arrival on the AG2R CITROËN TEAM. I am happy with my last few months as an amateur with a victory in a UCI class 2 race (fourth stage of the Alpes Isère Tour) and two podiums in the U23 coupe des nations (3rd in Gent-Wevelgem U23 and 3rd in the third stage of the Course de la Peace).
I took the time to have a break after the last goals then I resumed training to be quickly on form for the team. 
The Vuelta a Burgos will be a good start with a difficult course, a high level, and certainly very hot.
I am looking forward to this month of August and in particular the Tour du Limousin – Nouvelle Aquitaine, racing at home. »Valentin

The number

1

During the Vuelta a Burgos, Valentin Retailleau is competing in his first race as a professional.
In 2021, he rode as a stagiaire with the AG2R CITROËN TEAM and participated in La Polynormande, the Tour du Limousin – Nouvelle Aquitaine, the Deutschland Tour, Paris-Bourges, the Tour de Vendée and the Boucles de l’Aulne – Châteaulin .
Bastien Tronchon, 20, a member of the AG2R CITROËN U23 TEAM, is taking part in his first professional race as a stagiaire.

The news

Mikaël Cherel extends for a year

Mikaël Cherel, a professional since 2007, has extended his contract with the AG2R CITROËN TEAM for the 2023 season. He has been part of the squad since 2011.
“I am happy to extend my adventure with AG2R CITROËN for an additional year. This will be my thirteenth season with the team, which is my “second family”. I thank Vincent Lavenu and all the staff for their trust. The 2022 season with two Grand Tours, even if the second ended abruptly, allowed me to show that I am always able to respond to the biggest events and I am happy to be able to continue and to put my experience at the service of the team,” Mikaël Cherel said.

Vuelta a Burgos (2-6 août)

Valentin Retailleau : « Une bonne entrée en matière »

« J’ai hâte d’ouvrir une nouvelle page avec mon arrivée dans l’équipe AG2R CITROËN. Je suis content des derniers mois en amateur avec une victoire en classe 2 (quatrième étape de l’Alpes Isère Tour) et deux podiums en coupe des nations espoirs (3e de Gent-Wevelgem U23 et 3e de la troisième étape de la Course de la Paix).
J’ai pris le temps de couper après les derniers objectifs puis j’ai repris l’entraînement pour être rapidement opérationnel avec l’équipe.
La Vuelta a Burgos sera une bonne entrée en matière avec un parcours difficile, un niveau relevé et surement une forte chaleur.
J’attends avec impatience ce mois d’août et notamment le Tour du Limousin – Nouvelle Aquitaine, à domicile. »Valentin

Le chiffre

1

À l’occasion de la Vuelta a Burgos, Valentin Retailleau dispute sa première course en tant que professionnel.
En 2021, il avait été stagiaire dans l’équipe AG2R CITROËN et avait participé à La Polynormande, au Tour du Limousin – Nouvelle Aquitaine, au Deutschland Tour, à Paris-Bourges, au Tour de Vendée et aux Boucles de l’Aulne – Châteaulin.
Bastien Tronchon, 20 ans, membre de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN U23, participe à sa première course professionnelle en tant que stagiaire.

L’info

Mikaël Cherel prolonge d’un an

Mikaël Cherel, professionnel depuis 2007, a prolongé son contrat avec l’équipe AG2R CITROËN pour la saison 2023. Il fait partie de l’effectif depuis 2011.
« Je suis heureux de prolonger mon aventure avec AG2R CITROËN d’une année supplémentaire. Ce sera ma treizième saison dans l’équipe, qui est ma « seconde famille ». Je remercie Vincent Lavenu et tout le staff de sa confiance. La saison 2022, avec deux grands Tours même si le second s’est achevé en queue de poisson, m’a permis de montrer que j’étais toujours capable de répondre présent dans les plus grands rendez-vous et je suis heureux de pouvoir continuer à mettre mon expérience au service du collectif », dit Mikaël Cherel.